The City and 3 Other Municipalities of La Union are among Region 1 LLA Finalists

The City of San Fernando, and the Municipalities of Naguilian, Agoo and Santol are among the Region 1 2015 Local Legislative Award (LLA) Finalists. The award system is conducted to highlight the innovations and excellence in the legislative process and to institutionalize an award system for the local Sanggunians. 

The City of San Fernando is included in the Component City Category of the said Search, while Naguilian and Agoo are the Province’s bet for the 1st – 3rd Income Class Municipality Category, and Santol in the 4th – 6th Income Class Municipality Category. For this year, LLA has six (6) assessment criteria, namely: (1) Effectiveness of the Local Legislative Agenda; (2) Availability of Legislative Documents; (3) Efficiency of Performance of the Sanggunian; (4) Quality of Office Set – up and Staff Complement; (5) Legislative Awards and Citations, and; (6) Capacity Development for Legislators and Staff. 

The Provincial Awards Committee (PAC) is composed of the DILG La Union Provincial Director as the Chairperson, Philippine Councilors’ League Chapter President as Vice Chairperson and with members from the following offices: Department of Environment and Management – La Union, Provincial Budget Officer, Provincial Agriculture, Provincial Social Welfare and Development and the President or representative from the Philippine Chamber of Commerce, Inc (PCCI). 

Other Municipalities visited by the PAC which garnered an 80 % and above rating based on initial assessment were Sudipen, Luna, Bacnotan, San Juan, Burgos, Caba, and Rosario. The PAC visits were conducted from August – September, 2015.

[social_share googleplus="no"]

[social_like button="facebook" button_animation="to_bottom"]

Like this article

Back to Top